End of Term/Year Tips for Teachers

The transition between terms at the end of the semester or school year is typically when teachers have a lot of questions. This document covers frequently asked questions and provides tips for a smooth transition.  

How do I get my course to default to the new grading period?

The "current" grading period is set by the school's Echo Administrator. Once the setting is changed in the domain, all courses will begin showing the current grading period as the default. Let your Echo Administrator know if your course is not defaulting to the correct grading period.  

 

Should I reuse my Master course next year or make a new copy?

The recommended best practice is to make a new static copy of your master for each new semester or year that you teach the course. This gives you a clean start and prevents edits to the master changing activities and grades in your prior course.

When copying your master, be sure to check the "adjust due, visibility and grade release dates based on course start date" check box so that the system moves any assignment due dates based on your new course start date.

In cases where it is not possible to make a new copy of the master course (i.e. an integration tool like Clever is managing course creation), it is important to finalize grades to complete the course and enrollments. This action will prevent derivatives from inheriting changes from the Master.  

 

How do I print student grade reports?

It is always a good idea to download and or print student grade reports for all course(s) at the end of each term to have as a hard copy of past grades. Here is information on printing/downloading student grade reports.

 

How can I access my past/prior courses?

Under the course management button on the teacher's home page is an option to view past courses. This view lists your prior courses and provides access to view the syllabus, gradebooks and agendas.

 

 

 How do I permanently delete unneeded courses?

Using the “Manage Course” button at the top of the page, choose View/Delete then proceed to click on the trash can beside the course you want to delete. Echo will ask you if you are sure you want to delete it.  

If you do not have the option to delete a course you will have to contact your local Echo Administrator about deleting a course. It is helpful to rename the course “Delete Me” to ensure that your Admin deletes the correct course.

 

 

Share your projects/activities with the Network

Celebrate your year by sharing with others.

Have you had great success with a project? a template? a rubric? or any other activity?

How do I share projects and activities with the Network?

 

 

Echo is constantly being improved based on the feedback from users and we strive to keep our documentation up to date.  If this document doesn’t match what you are seeing in Echo, please let us know.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.