End of Year Tips for Teachers 2017

End of Year Teacher Echo 2017

We know this time of year is a challenge! You are still teaching every day and are going to go strong until the end, but you must also consider prepping for next year’s tasks! To assist you, we’ve identified some of the key end-of-year Echo FAQs to help you close out this year and be prepared for next year! 

How do I get a new copy of this year’s course to use next year?

At the end of this year, make a static copy of your current master course for the next term.  This will bring all of your current content into the new course and let you start making improvements for next year without affecting last year’s courses.

WARNING: Do not use this year’s master to make new derivatives of your course.  This will cause changes you make to the master for the new year to update your derivatives for last years courses potentially changing student grades.

How will I access this year’s courses Grades and Agendas next year?

There are a couple of ways to do this

  1. To See Grades and Agendas:  Extend your enrollment date for the course (you will need your Echo Administrator to do this for you, the enrollment date is not the same as the course begin and end dates). Once your enrollment is extended, the course will continue to appear on your Echo workspace.  You can use the manage course button to either or show the “old” course on your desktop or hide it.
  2. To Copy Content or Projects: You can use your school’s Digital Library to browse the content of any course in your domain (school). Note that you cannot access previous course grades through the digital library, only the content. You can access the library from the “Course Editor” when you add an item to your course. Instead of selecting an item from the available list, click “Digital Library” and navigate to your school and course. See the documentation for more.

How do I clean up all of my unused/practice courses?

Using the “Manage Course” button at the top of the page, choose View/Delete then proceed to click on the trash can beside the course you want to delete, Echo will ask you if you are sure you want to delete it.  

If you do not have the option to delete a course you will have to contact your local Echo Administrator about deleting a course. It is helpful to rename the course “Delete Me” to ensure that your Admin deletes the correct course.

Share your projects/activities with the Network

Celebrate your year by sharing with others.

Have you had great success with a protocol? a template? a rubric? or any other activity?

How do I share projects and activities with the Network?

 

 

Echo is constantly being improved based on the feedback from users and we strive to keep our documentation up to date.  If this document doesn’t match what you are seeing in Echo, please let us know.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.